Peak UK Chart Position: #2 in March 1990.

Second week at its peak position of number two for a megamix that was more representative of what didn’t win an award at the Brits that year than what did. It was an interesting concept for a tie-in, mind – following on from the likes of the Deep Heat album samplers, and ahead of acts such as Technotronic and Snap! megamixing their own hits – “The Brits 1990” took a bunch of relatively recent dance hits and strung them seamlessly together. It was compiled by Mike Gray, who did a large amount of work for DMC – short for Disco Mix Club – primarily a remix label licensed by the BPI (British Phonographic Industry) to release tracks on a DJ-only basis. Executive producer on the track was Jonathan King, who had become producer of the awards ceremony after the 1989 Samantha Fox and Mick Fleetwood débacle. He had also hosted the event in 1987.

The tracks that featured were:

  • Rebel MC and Double Trouble: “Street Tuff”
  • A Guy Called Gerald: “Voodoo Ray”
  • S’Express: “Theme From S’Express”
  • Beatmasters featuring Betty Boo: “Hey DJ/I Can’t Dance (To That Music You’re Playing)”
  • Jeff Wayne: “Eve Of The War (Ben Liebrand Remix)”
  • 808 State: “Pacific State”
  • D Mob featuring Gary Haisman: “We Call It Acieed”
  • Cookie Crew: “Got To Keep On”

No proper video here, but worth listening as it is an exceptionally well-compiled mix of that era’s dance tunes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *